Daydreaming about this year’s garden.

It’s a really cold outside today!

Picking green beans with my boys
Picking green beans with my boys

I thought it would be a good time to pick up the seed catalogue and consider this year’s vegetable garden.  Just to inspire me (and you) I’ve put up a picture of us from last year. Can’t you just smell the dill?  Actually that picture reminds me how hard that kind of work is on my back. LOL  Anyway, on to picking vegetable seeds!  I’d like to try a few more heirloom varieties.  It’s not that I’m saving seeds at this point but I could and it depends on the vegetable.  I have a few favorite vegetable varieties I’d like to stick with because they have produced well for me in the past.  Our growing season is short so ‘days to maturity’ is something I must consider.  The shorter the better if I hope to meet the harvest before a frost.

There is an heirloom variety of beets called “Bull’s Blood”.  The leaves are a deep burgundy and the roots are candy striped.  Might be a good way to get my family to like beets. 😉
 
I only have one jar of dill pickles left so I definitely need to plant more cucumbers than last year! “Homemade Pickles” variety has produced well for me.  I also like the heirloom variety “Lemon Apple”, though they aren’t for pickling, but they are really attractive in a salad.
 
Have you seen “Watermelon” radishes?  Another heirloom variety.  They are white on the outside and red on the inside.  Very cool looking!
 
I can see I need to take my pen and start writing down my order.  There are so many wonderful varieties to choose from, this could take a while!  But I can’t think of a better way to spend this cold day, deep into winter than daydream over my vegetable garden.
Leave a Reply

