Camping at Nutimik Lake

We went camping at Nutimik Lake in the Whiteshell Provincial Park. Nutimik is the Cree word for “up the river”. Here’s some pictures of our campsite and of the area.  It rained the first 2 days so we spent a lot of time inside the camper, but that was okay, it was very relaxing.  We got some sunshine too.  We took those walks I talked about.  🙂

I saw a wide range of wildlife: a deer, a rabbit, chipmunks, crows, a crane, a flock of black birds, a bald eagle, chickadees, and some other songbirds I don’t know (lol). I was hoping to see a black bear (from afar) but didn’t.

Cooking over an open fire was a lot of fun!  I tried individual dinner pouches.  I greased tinfoil with coconut oil and placed on them: cubed potatoes, green beans (from the garden), chopped onion, green pepper, carrots, sausage, salt and pepper.  I folded the tinfoil over and sealed it, then cooked it for about 30 minutes on the campfire, turning 2 or 3 times.  They turned out very good!  I cooked a similar dinner the next night too.

For breakfast we had nectarines and plums with yogurt.

Another favorite is baked sweet potatoes. I wrapped them with foil and baked over hot coals for about 20 minutes then served them with melted butter and dill.  So good!

It was a very relaxing few days away.  But I’m glad to be home even though it will take a few days to get caught up.  The animals are doing well.  I can see I have a ton of green beans to pick and at least one cabbage is ready.

This post is part of Tuesday Twister at GNOWFGLINS

10 responses

  1. Your trip sounds wonderful, a great getaway! You’ve been working so hard with the chicken processing that you must have been glad to put your feet up and soak it all in. The pouches you made sound wonderful ~ what a good idea! The pictures are not showing up, though. I will come back and see if they’re up later. Welcome home, and thanks for sharing in the Twister!

    • Wardeh, I tried to post pictures that weren’t part of the gallery but I obviously don’t know how. (Maybe you could give me pointers?) So I posted all the pics in the gallery so they could all be seen.

  2. Marg, you go in through “Add Photo” and then click on “Library” – find the picture you want, set its alignment and size, then “Insert Into Post”. Does that help?

    Now that I see the pictures, I’m even more hungry 🙂 There’s nothing like oven-roasted veggies!

    • Wardeh, when I try to upload a new photo, it automatically puts it in the gallery. I’m uploading through the ‘edit page’, maybe if I uploaded through the Media tab, it wouldn’t do that?

      • Marg – yes, I think that would keep them out of the gallery. I think I misunderstood what you were trying to do. You’d still be able to insert the photos from the post editor, by going to the Library tab. Hopefully that will work for you.

  3. Wow, it looks like so much fun!!! Thanks for taking that picture of the frog. It’s really cool. 😀 I think it’s probably a Gray Tree Frog. they have dark colors like that.

    Did you get in Nutimik lake? Was it cold?

    Naomi
    P.S. Thanks again for the picture. 😀

    • Naomi, there are 2 frogs in the picture! Can you see them both? After 2 days of rain, there were a lot frogs! Thank you for identifying them. They were both spotted but one was a little more brown and the other more green. Were they the same species? They looked exactly the same except for color.
      I got my feet wet in the lake. It felt nice and cool. There were kids swimming.

Comments are closed.