Chokecherries and wild plums

The boys picked some chokecherries and some wild plums for me.  The first pail of chokecherries, I made into juice.  The berries themselves look like jewels to me, the juice is this incredible deep burgundy color.  I got a quart of juice and I think we’ll just drink it like that.  I have lots more berries I’d like to turn into wine if I can find my recipe!  If you have a good chokecherry wine recipe, let me know.

I wish there were more plums because the sauce turned out really nice.  I pitted them then ran them through my tomato press.  The color of the plum sauce is incredible too, it’s a lovely pumpkin-and-spice orange.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

