There’s good news and bad news.

On goes the quest to eat more real foods and eliminate processed crap.  It’s been a week of ups and downs. Here’s a short review of what has been slicing and dicing (twisting) in my kitchen this week.

Sourdough breadMy sourdough starter was a success and I was really anxious to make some healthy bread for my family! Unfortunately, it was a huge disappointment. The bread is far too sour and will be croutons in its next life.  Come think of it, I’m sure I did this once before, years and years ago.  I’m so discouraged and fear this learning curve is just too steep for me.

That was the bad news, now the good news:

Gazpacho – I made gazpacho again this week for hubby’s lunches and packed it in 1/2 pint jars to-go. I changed up how I made it from last time and it turned out much better, I think. Super healthy for hubby too as everything is raw.

Tuna Noodle Skillet Dinner – this I winged. I improvised on my homemade version of hamburger helper to make a tuna helper. Tuna, broccoli, mushrooms, onions, zucchini, whole wheat rotini, in a cream sauce and topped with shredded cheddar cheese. It was surprisingly good!

Tomato cucumber and onion salad – very basic, simple ingredients but so delicious! Peel and slice 3 small cucumbers thinly, cut tomatoes into wedges and slice onions thin. I use twice as much tomatoes and half the onions as cucumbers, but you can use any ratio you like. Drizzle with 4 Tbsp olive oil and 3 Tbsp. white wine vinegar, salt and pepper and toss gently.  You can try different types of vinegar but the white wine vinegar is so good!  I may never use regular vinegar again. 😉 Refrigerate for at least an hour to blend the flavours. A lovely summer salad!

Food for thought – No matter what happens – there’s always someone who knew it would.

This post is part of Tuesday Twister hosted by GNOWFGLINS.com

5 responses

  1. Marg,
    Your bread *looks* beautiful. Too sour? Guess it bit you back, huh?

    I’m encouraged by your efforts. I tried sourdough years ago, never perfected it, went to making “soaked” bread in my bread machine. Now the machine is out and I’m wanting to give sourdough a whirl again…

    but the 2 year old is into everything, life won’t slow down, and I’ve got cold feet. So thanks for blogging about your battles. I hope to find some gumption and join you.

    Happy baking!

  2. Will you try your sourdough again? The first couple of weeks that I made sourdough with this starter it turned out dismal. Now it is good. I think the more you use your starter the better it gets. Is the salad from your garden produce?

  3. Milkmaid ~ LOL 🙂 I guess it did bite me back. I tried the soaking method last week and wasn’t happy with the process but I don’t have a bread machine, I’m making by hand. Maybe I should look at getting one? What do you think?

    Millie ~ I dunno if I’ll try it again. I’ll use the starter for making muffins and other stuff though. Hopefully it’ll taste better than the bread did. I’m just feeling too discouraged to consider it today. Yes, the cukes and tomatoes are from my garden!

    ~Marg

  4. Marg, I’m sorry you’re discouraged about the sourdough bread. I don’t think the learning curve is too steep for you. Certainly not! One suggestion I have is for you to keep the dough in the fridge while rising (like for 18 to 24 hours). This will slow the souring down and yield a less sour bread. Everything you made is beautiful – thanks for sharing in the Twister!

  5. Pingback: For the love of cucumbers « Prairie Sunrise

Leave a Reply

