First egg

eggs1

I got my first egg from the chicks I got back in May!  Generally, they are expected to start laying when they are 20 weeks old but these girls are just 17 weeks old.  Don’t ask me why, I was totally unprepared.  Though… that hen that squatted for me when I was in there yesterday should have been an indication.  I wasn’t sure if I saw what I saw, LOL.  The eggs from my older hens would be considered ‘jumbo’ in size.  The one I found today… definitely ‘pee wee’.  But that’s okay, because I’m so happy they have started laying.  It will be no time before I’m back in business!  (I had to turn away egg customers since my flock had gotten so small.)

5 responses

Leave a Reply

