Mostly poultry

Here’s a look at the real food that’s been cooking in my kitchen this week.  I didn’t realize we were eating so much poultry until I put this post together! Ha!

Roast turkey – I cut the legs and wings off one of our homegrown fresh turkeys, put them in the freezer for another time and roasted the rest, breast side down. Cooking it breast down makes it very moist. I removed the breast and sliced it for a meal and for sandwiches.

Curried turkey – We loved this! It’s also a good way to use bits of meat you get from different parts of the turkey. It can be made with any kind of leftover meat. The way I used to cook it called for canned cream of mushroom soup, but this time I made it with real ingredients only and it was so much better! I served it over brown basmati rice.

Turkey enchiladas – not pictured. This was a new recipe I tried and it was very good! Filling too and we hardly knew it was turkey. Which was nice since we’ve been eating so much of it lately. 😉

Turkey stock – The bones were so big, I had to cook it in my canner! It made lots of yummy broth.

For a turkey that had the legs and wings removed, it fed us for a lot of meals. I picked the last bits of meat off the bones, (another pound!) and froze it for another meal at another time. Hopefully that’s the end of it for a while!

Greek Roasted Chicken and Potatoes – I make this fairly often. It’s a family favourite. I especially like it because you can adapt it for feeding more or less people.

Fresh Tomato Soup – A soup made with chicken broth, from the leftover roast chicken. I used up the last of my tomatoes from the garden. The picture doesn’t show that there are chunks of tomato, green pepper and chicken. I also used up the last little bit of cream I bought earlier in the week even though it didn’t call for it.

Sandwich Spread – I won’t buy Miracle Whip anymore and mayonnaise isn’t zippy enough for my family so I’ve been experimenting with a sandwich spread recipe. I don’t want to call it Miracle Whip because I’m not trying to copy the taste but make my own. This one turned out pretty good. They’re eating it in their turkey sandwiches so I guess it’s okay. 🙂

This post is part of Tuesday Twister hosted by GNOWFGLINS.com

11 responses

    • Here you go, Millie. 🙂 It’s pretty simple.

      Curry

      1 small onion, chopped
      ½ green pepper, chopped
      1 clove of garlic, minced
      1 tsp. ground ginger
      2 Tbsp curry powder
      1 ½ cups water
      2 cups cooked meat, cubed
      salt and pepper to taste
      1/4 cup heavy cream (or more as desired)

      Saute the onion and green pepper in a small amount of fat in a skillet. Add garlic, water, ginger, curry powder, salt and pepper and meat. Reduce heat and simmer for about 15 min. Add cream at the end and heat through, but don’t allow to boil. Serve over rice.
      Yield: 4-6 servings

  1. i have a turkey question; would you think a frozen free-range turkey would be ok to thaw, cook and eat after… a year? (i know,long time, i kind of forgot about it). thanks!

  2. Marg, beautiful! You’re really getting a run for your money on those turkeys (not that you spent that much cuz you grew them yourself, I haven’t forgotten)! Wonderful dishes. I ‘d love to see your spread recipe, when you get it perfected. We could use one of those. Thanks for sharing your week in the Twister.

  3. Yes, that all looks wonderful and YES,YES we would love to have that spread recipe. I found my store-bought mayonnaise in the refrigerator door the other day, and just about used it, but luckily I came to my senses just in time to throw it OUT! So now I need something to replace it. Thanks

  4. Pingback: What I do with “all that milk” | Prairie Sunrise Homestead

Leave a Reply

