Kefir and Butternut Peanut Soup

KE12866

Homemade kefir

I have been looking for kefir or kefir starter for ages!  Ready to eat kefir is not available in the stores anywhere here. I finally found some starter!  Actually hubby found it when we were out together. I was so excited! I don’t have raw milk to make it with but if it’s as good as I’ve been reading, even made with store milk we should see the benefits.  Eventually I would like to make it with raw milk.  You can read here about the difference between kefir and yogurt.  I have some questions, though.  How is making kefir with the starter different than with grains?  The kefir was ready this morning, I gave it a stir like the directions said.  It looks really good, thick and smooth, but there’s no grains.  It tastes good, a lot like plain yogurt.  My youngest son likes yogurt but said ‘bleh’.  I gave him half a glass and he drank the whole thing.  Maybe first thing in the morning wasn’t the best time to get him to try it.  😀

BU12874

Butternut Peanut Soup

The other new recipe I tried was Butternut Peanut Soup. Doesn’t the name sound yummy?  I have quite a few butternut squashes from my garden this year so thought I’d try this different looking soup.  I didn’t follow the recipe exactly because there were a few ingredients I didn’t have and don’t normally so I adapted it to my pantry.  The recipe posted is my adapted version.  It’s very good and filling too.  I think I’ll try it with turkey stock next time.

Marg's Sandwich Spread

Marg's Sandwich Spread

I promised to share my sandwich spread recipe so here it is.  It turns out a lovely creamy-yellow colour.  Yellower than the picture. The next batch I may experiment with adding different ingredients to this base recipe.

Marg’s Sandwich Spread

2 egg yolks
½ tsp. sea salt
1 Tbsp. raw honey
1 Tbsp. lemon juice
2 Tbsp. white wine vinegar
3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp. dry mustard mixed with a little water.

Mix the first 5 ingredients in a blender. With the blender running, drizzle in olive oil very slowly. Mix the dry mustard with a little water to make a paste and add to the blender. Keep refrigerated.

Yield: approx. 1½ cups

This post is part of Tuesday Twister hosted by GNOWFGLINS.com

9 responses

  1. I agree with Emily. Plain kefir takes some getting used to. We do alot of smoothies. I think that the big thing about grains vs the powder is the grains continue to produce and the powder has a shorter lifeline. Once you have the grains if properly cared for they never need to be replaced.

    I’m glad you posted the sandwich spread. It looks great.

  2. Thank you, ladies. I found plain yogurt some getting used to so it wasn’t a big leap for me to get used to plain kefir. The rest of my family will be different…I’m going to try making smoothies tonight.

    Millie, thanks for explaining the difference. I read that I can take 1/4 cup of this kefir to continue the next batch. 6 or 7 times is the max. Is there a way to make my kefir form grains?

    ~Marg

  3. Marg, how fun that you’re making kefir! I think Millie is right about the difference – the grains will last you forever, while the powdered culture eventually runs out of steam. I’m not sure you can form grains from the powder, but everything I’ve read about the differences suggests the answer is no. I think it is funny that your son drank the glass even though he didn’t really like it.

    I love kefir and I do drink it plain – but we enjoy it lots of other foods too.

    Thanks for the spread recipe. I’m going to try it! Thanks for sharing your week in the Twister.

  4. Kefir starter is a mix of about 10 specific microorganisms combined in a laboratory. The starter is not self-sustaining, you can only use the kefired milk a few times to culture the next batch before you have to use the starter again.

    Kefir grains are a combination of about four dozen microorganisms living together in symbiosis within a polysaccharide matrix that resembles bits of cauliflower. These grains reproduce and grow each time you use them to make kefir and cannot be manufactured.

    Here’s a really good (short) article about kefir:
    http://www.sustainlane.com/reviews/making-kefir-at-home/TVJT7QNYU8RTOIKFN8SM2ZIMFDN8

    Here’s the best site on the internet about kefir:
    http://users.chariot.net.au/~dna/kefirpage.html

  5. Andrew~ thank you for that info. I appreciate you posting. The powdered starter will have to do for now but I’ll keep looking for grains.

    My hubby actually really likes the kefir plain! He says it tastes like buttermilk, only better. He packed it in his lunch. 🙂

    ~Marg

  6. Pingback: Muesli, egg salad and kefir « Prairie Sunrise

Comments are closed.