Tuesday Twister

I know it’s been a while since I’ve blogged.  Some family stuff came up and I didn’t have the mental energy to blog.  It’s been a challenge cooking real food when life gets crazy!  Don’t you find it that way?  I thought I wasn’t doing too bad for suppers.  They were very simple but still real.  It’s the other meals I sloughed off. The worst part is my hubby has been buying processed lunch foods, because I haven’t been home enough to do food prepping and cooking.  My son came down with a cold last week and has been fighting it for longer than I like.  I wonder if there’s a connection between my cooking (or lack of) and son’s health??  Well, I’m trying to get back to doing more again.  Here’s a few of this week’s real foods:

Homemade Noodles – This was the first time I tried making egg noodles with kamut flour.  It was different to work with but tasted pretty much the same to me.

Turkey Noodle Soup – Soup for the homemade noodles, of course.  I cooked turkey bones with garlic and onion to make the broth.  I added some carrots afterwards for colour and taste.  This is one of the first foods I like to cook when anyone is feeling under the weather.

Pumpkin Pudding – I’m working through my pumpkin harvest.  This recipe has lots of pumpkin flavour but is not too sweet. 

3 – 4 cups cooked pumpkin
1 cup milk
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
1/3 cup honey
½ cup flour , type of your choice
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 ½ tsp ginger
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. cloves
1/4 tsp. nutmeg

Puree the cooked pumpkin with the wet ingredients in a blender of food processor. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well. Generously grease a medium pan or casserole with about a Tbsp. of butter. Spread the batter in. Sprinkle with the following combined mixture on top:
½ cup chopped walnuts or pecans
1 Tbsp. melted butter
1 Tbsp. honey

Bake in a preheated oven at 350F for 40 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature with whipped cream or ice cream.

This post is part of Tuesday Twister hosted by GNOWFGLINS.com

3 responses

  1. I agree – your noodles look wonderful. They look perfect in fact. It must be that pasta maker! I don’t have one of those and that’s probably why I don’t make pasta often enough. I’m happy your life is slowing down again – and yes, I do see a connection between good food and health. My husband’s job requires him to eat out at least once a week, sometimes more, and it definitely has effects. He dreads eating out, but doesn’t have a choice sometimes.

Leave a Reply

