Farm fresh cream!

What’s better than farm fresh cream, so thick you have to spoon it?! I know of a farm to get it but it’s quite a distance away. I was in the area last week so was able to get some. Also got 5 lb.s of butter and 2 lbs. of cottage cheese. So good! I was a little exuberant about getting cream so I was looking for ways to use it up. I tried making homemade sour cream, it turned out really good! Also made cream of turkey soup and ice cream, which I haven’t done in a years. My ice cream maker is older and really loud so I made it outside. I add a heaping dollop of cream to my coffee every morning.

What’s your favourite way to use fresh cream?

This post is part of Tuesday Twister hosted by GNOWFGLINS.

7 responses

  1. We get cream every week from a lady, and we use it mostly for ice cream. Yum. It is SO good! 🙂 In the picture, is that your ice cream maker? The ice cream next to it looks really good! 😀

    Love,
    Naomi

    • Yes, that’s my ice cream maker. Does it look weird? The top part is the motor that turns the canister below it. And around the canister I pack ice and salt. It takes about 1/2 an hour.

  2. Your ice cream maker looks just like the one our family used when I was a kid to make homemade ice cream at cookouts! YUM!

    I buy a quart of fresh, raw cream every week and use it for various things. I like it in my coffee, and we make ice cream too. We also love the clam chowder and homemade cream of mushroom soup I make with the cream. There are so many wonderful ways you can use it!

  3. Sorry, Marg. 🙂 I have such wonderful memories of homemade ice cream at my grandparent’s house as a kid. I’m not sure if the ice cream maker was my mom’s or my grandma’s. I WISH I could be considered a baby at 40! LOL! 😉

Leave a Reply

