Ducklings!

Guess what we got! šŸ˜€ I saw an ad on and online classified for these free ducks. A little coaxing from my son, I made a phone call and we drove to get them. Not that I wasn’t already thinking about getting ducks but a little nudge from someone else helped me take the next step. I usually do some reading about an new animal before it comes to the farm but this time I didn’t, not until I brought them home that is. I consulted Encyclopedia of Country Living by Carla Emery. I’m not too worried about how we’ll do, they sound a lot like keeping chickens with a few differences.

The place I got them from wasn’t sure what kind of ducks they are. She keeps Indian Runners, Blue Swedish and Rouen. It seems pretty clear to me they are Indian Runner and Rouen cross! Wouldn’t you say? I don’t know how to tell male from female at this stage. Does anyone else? They are suppose to be 2 weeks old.Ā  Hopefully there is a femaleĀ amoungst the fiveĀ because I’d like to get some eggs so I can grow my flock.Ā  They are very shy but I hope they will start to feel safe and know this is home. šŸ™‚

12 responses

  1. That’s awesome, Marg!!! šŸ˜€ How exciting!

    We’re having trouble with our khaki campbell ducklings… more are dying. šŸ˜¦

  2. I’m sure you’ll enjoy your new ducks Margret! They look like Rouen/Runner cross to me too. I doubt you can identify boys or girls till they get a lot bigger. I couldn’t tell with ours for quite a while.

    • Well, you give me a little hope, maggiemay. I was concerned they were all drakes. Hubby says, “So what” LOL so I guess I shouldn’t worry.

  3. Pingback: Ducks, cont’d | Prairie Sunrise Homestead

Leave a Reply

