Homemade salad dressing

Homemade salad dressing

We’ve been enjoying lots of lettuce out of the garden. Salads everyday!

Mesclun lettuce

I planted this mesclun mix which is really nice to have the different colours and shapes in the salad.

Store bought salad dressing is made with soybean oil, it’s the first ingredient listed. Even the ones that said “made with olive oil” on the label, listed soybean oil as the first ingredient! So I’ve been venturing to mix my own salad dressing.

Karen and Drew at Herb’N Renewal make a lovely blend of herbs called Greek’n Greens, that you simply mix with your own oil and vinegar. I made theirs last week. It was wonderful! And so easy. This week I tried this recipe:

1 Tbsp. garlic powder
1 Tbsp. onion powder
1 Tbsp. sucanat
2 Tbsp. dried oregano
1 tsp. black pepper
1/4 tsp. dried thyme
1 tsp. dried basil
1 Tbsp. dried parsley
1 tsp. sea salt
½ tsp. red pepper flakes

Mix well and add 2 Tbsp. to
1/4 cup vinegar (your choice) I used raw apple cider vinegar
½ cup olive oil
2 Tbsp. water

I’m not a fan of the taste of raw apple cider vinegar though I do appreciate it’s benefits. Next time I think I’ll try it with balsamic vinegar.

This post is part of Tuesday Twister hosted by GNOWFGLINS.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

