One little chick

A while ago I had a couple hens that went broody so I decided to let one of them sit on a clutch of eggs. I’ve never actually done this before. One year I had a hen hatch some eggs but that was an accident. She disappeared one day and I found her hidden in some bushes on a nest of eggs.

Anyway, I decided on a spot to seclude her from the rest of the flock, tucked 9 eggs under her and let her be. It was around 15 days or so that I risked putting my hand under her to see the eggs. (She pecks HARD!) I see that there aren’t 9 eggs anymore but only 7. She ate 2 of her eggs. 😦 I didn’t think the rest would hatch because they had gotten egg yolk and white on them, but decided I’d wait and see.

On the morning of the 21st day I see a chick under the hen, but it’s not moving. 😦 Later that day I look again and low and behold there’s another chick hatched! And it’s alive! 🙂  so exciting!

I left the other eggs under her for another 3 days but looks like there’s only one little chick. I can’t tell if it’s a poult or cockerel. We’ll have to wait to see.

This post is part of Simple Lives Thursday hosted by GNOWFGLINS, A Little Bit of Spain in Iowa, Sustainable Eats, and Culinary Bliss.

9 responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this little lovely! I’m not allowed to have chickens in my city, so I’m very jealous of your ability to watch them grow. Animals are such a different experience from growing plants.

  2. Ahh, he’s cute! Proud mama? How is he?

    I was peeling boiled eggs (I know, this story starts weird! LOL) for our lunch, and I noticed, at the wide end of the egg, where the air bubble is, the egg just flattens out and it’s hollow at the top in the exact shape of an air bubble! Anyway, I just thought that was neat. 😉 😆 😉

    • Yes, I think mama is proud. 🙂 The chick seems to be doing fine. I haven’t seen them out of the nesting box but the signs are there that they have been.

      That’s neat about the air bubble. 🙂

  3. Oh, my goodness, what a cutie!

    I sure know what you mean about having to be brave to check on the eggs. I feel so badly that she ate two of her eggs. 😦

    But congratulations on the one! Even one life is so fun to witness. Such a blessing!

  4. Isn’t is AWESOME! We had some ducklings hatch this week as well! We had a chicken sitting on them believe it or not. If you want to see some pictures they are on my website…C-U-T-E. PS…Love your blog

  5. Pingback: Ducklings and chick « Prairie Sunrise

Leave a Reply

