Ducklings and chick

Rouen ducks

They’ve all grown up! As you can see in the picture of the ducks, I have 1 female and 4 males, just like I suspected. One or two of the drakes will make it to the freezer.

Mamma on the left, baby on the right

The one little chick my hen hatched is almost as big as his mamma! Ya, I’m pretty sure he’s a rooster. Oh well, I’m willing to give it another try next year. I’ll tag this hen so I can use her again, now that she knows what she’s doing. She started out rocky but came through a strong mother hen.  

All these birds are living together right now in the chicken coop. It’s not heated so I’ll be doing some juggling around and putting them in the barn with the other hens where it’s heated for the winter.  

2 responses

  1. Dear Marg,
    how are you? Finally I see some new pictures of your farm! I cannot believe the little chick has grown so fast…wow! Complimenti!
    Yeah, you should definitely put them into some heated barn otherwise they freeze by themselves (Don has told me about the bunny he once had)!
    How are your other animals and Sammy doing? I still have my four hungry cats, one of them pregnant again, I hope I see some kittens this time, as I’m soon leaving to go to Spain, only three more weeks on the buffalo farm!
    Tanti saluti
    Andrea

Leave a Reply

