Making horseradish sauce


I planted some horseradish a few years ago. I wasn’t sure what to expect, having never done this before. Our dirt is black clay, so boy was it hard to dig up! Next time I think I’ll get some man-muscles to help me! I dug about as much as I could without shocking the rest of the plant. I cut the tops off outside and took the funny looking roots into the house. I wonder who thought this weird looking root could be peeled and chopped into something edible?

The smell wasn’t too bad. I was waiting for it to hit me as I cautiously worked, peeling, cutting and chopping it in the food processor. I thought this stuff isn’t so strong… until I removed the lid off the food processor! Wow! After that I was working at arm’s length.

Once the root was chopped, I added vinegar and water until it reached the right consistency. That’s it! So easy to make. I put it into ½ pint jars and put it in the fridge. This amount of roots made 4 – ½ pint jars. (We’ve already eaten 1 ½ jars)

Horseradish sauce is wonderful accompaniment to beef. That’s the way I like it best. Try adding some to your tomato vegetable soup, meatloaf or hamburgers. Here’s a yummy salmon recipe for using it.

Dilled Salmon Steaks

2 Tbsp. lemon juice
1 Tbsp. horseradish sauce
1 Tbsp. finely chopped onion
½ tsp sea salt
4 salmon steaks, thaw if frozen
1/3 cup sour cream
1 tsp. horseradish sauce
1 tsp. grated lemon rind
½ tsp. dill weed.

Combine first 4 ingredients. Pour over salmon steaks in baking dish. Cover and let marinate 1 hour or in the fridge overnight. Bake uncovered at 350F for 15-20 minutes or until fish flakes easily with a fork. Combine sour cream and 1 tsp. horseradish, spread over salmon. Sprinkle with lemon rind and dill. Bake 3 minutes longer.
Serve hot with lemon wedges. Makes 4 servings.

This post is part of Simple Lives Thursday, hosted by GNOWFGLINS, A Little Bit of Spain in Iowa, Culinary Bliss, and Sustainable Eats.

2 responses

  1. I LOVE horseradish with meat. Would you believe my chickens KILLED my horseradish! I am going to have to plant again in a protected spot. I’m glad it’s so easy to prepare.

Leave a Reply

