Meet Happy!

Happy

She is our new milk cow! The name is kinda corny, I know. She’s a pure bred Jersey, 6 yrs old, and just the sweetest thing! Transportation went well. She drew attention from a few passersby as we drove with her head out the back of the trailer. πŸ˜† Unloading was as easy as the loading! She’s a big puppy dog. Not at all what hubby expected but all that I had hoped and prayed for!

So far we’re getting 3 gallons of milk a day. It’s only been a day so I’m still figuring out how much we consume fresh, and what else I can do with it. It’s a wonderful problem to have!!

She needs some time to settle in. All these things are so strange to her, including me and my lack of milking skills. But I’m getting there. We had some wonderful friends come and show us how to milk last night and again this morning. Hubby had a try and our youngest son is interested in learning as well. πŸ™‚ Such a blessing to me since this whole thing was my idea. I’ve been talking about getting a milk cow for YEARS so they should have been used to it. πŸ˜‰

She’s in the barn for now but once she’s relaxed and content that this is ‘home’ then she’ll get go out on pasture and meet the calf.

15 responses

  1. She is SO pretty! Congratulations. I am really glad it is going so well. You’ve been very patient, so I’m just mostly pleased you finally get to do this. And I agree, figuring out how to use fresh milk is a good problem to have. πŸ™‚

  2. She is a beautiful girl, Marg! πŸ˜€

    I love how you describe her as a big puppy dog. lol Does she try to sit on your lap? πŸ˜€

  3. Pingback: Making butter with a food processor « Prairie Sunrise

  4. Pingback: Cheese in a homemade cheese press « Prairie Sunrise

  5. Happy is a beautiful lady, Marg. And her name is most certainly *not* corny– we have a yellow/blonde lab by the same name, and she truly IS Happy! Best dog we’ve ever had! Enjoy your new addition (I’m somewhat envious of you having your Happy– it’s not “time” for us, as we still live “in town”, but hopefully soon… sigh…)!

  6. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Prairie Sunrise Homestead

  7. Happy is a beautiful girl. You are very blessed to have her and to have your husband
    and son take an interest in milking too. Enjoy all that lovely milk.

  8. Pingback: Easy Hand Milker, Easier Than Hand Milking! | Prairie Sunrise Homestead

Leave a Reply

