What I do with “all that milk”

Our milk cow, Happy, gives us between 3 and 3 1/2 gallons of milk per day. I’ve been asked a few times what I do with “all that milk”. There’s so much I do with it (besides drinking it fresh).

I make:
1. Yogurt
2. Ice cream
3. Cultured butter
4. Cheese

I add cream to
5. My coffee
6. Recipes, such as cream soups , curried dishes and creamed cabbage

I make cheese about once a week. The different kinds I make are mozzarella, ricotta, cheddar, queso fresco.

I love, love, love cream in my coffee! To me, this is one of life’s simple pleasures.

Everyday, I share about a gallon of milk with my chickens. They love it! I don’t think the ducks do, though. I haven’t seen them touch it.

So if the words “all that milk” have crossed your mind, and you’ve wonder what I do, now you know. 🙂

What do you do with extra milk? Which way is your favourite?

This post is part of Simple Lives Thursday hosted by GNOWFGLINS, Sustainable Eats and Culinary Bliss

Simple Lives Thursday blog hop

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Simple Lives Thursday, November 24, 2011 | Sustainable Eats

  2. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Prairie Sunrise Homestead

Leave a Reply

