Rainy day in the kitchen

It’s been rainy and cool the past 3 days so I took the time to try some new things in the kitchen.

The first thing is this hearty Aduki Bean Stew.  I made it up based on a few recipes.  It turned out very tasty.

Aduki_bean_stew

  • 2 cups aduki beans (soaked overnight and rinsed)
  • 10 cups ham stock
  • 4 celery stalks, chopped
  • 3 carrots, chopped
  • handful of pot barley
  • 2 Tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
  • 3 cups chopped fresh or canned tomatoes
  • 1 Tbsp fresh oregano, chopped

Simmer first 6 ingredients for 1 1/2 hours.  Add tomatoes and oregano and simmer another 30 min. 

This recipe makes LOTS.  Three of us had 2 or 3 bowls for supper and there were about 3 bowls leftover for lunch today.  It’s all gone, by the way. 😉

The other recipe I tried was a Cold Rice Salad and Maple Vinaigrette.  I’ve never made either before today.  Thank you, Wardeh (http://gnowfglins.com) for the inspiration.

cold_rice_salad

  • 1/2 cup raw brown basmati rice, cooked
  • 1/4 cup raw wild rice, cooked
  • tomato, sliced
  • celery, chopped
  • cucumber, chopped
  • little bit of onion, chopped

Toss with Maple Vinaigrette.  Before serving, add some walnuts.  You could add just about any vegetable you like.  I used what I had on hand.

I have never made a vinaigrette before but I can tell you this won’t be the last!!  I was taking a chance with the Maple Vinaigrette, but it is really good and goes well with the Cold Rice Salad.

maple_vinaigrette

Maple Vinaigrette

  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 1 Tbsp. dijon mustard
  • 1 small clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp. ground ginger
  • salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

Mix the ingredients in the blender, slowly drizzle in oil, blending constantly until thickened.  Serve at room temperature.

I’ve been snacking on the salad… it’s so good!! I’m trying to leave enough for supper tonight. 🙂

4 responses

  1. Yum yum yum! Your foods all look so good :mrgreen: Especially the first part. I’d put veggie stock in, instead of the ham stock. I bed it would be delicious. 🙂 Hugs, Robin

Leave a comment