Countdown to holidays

chalkboard3Hubby starts 2 weeks of holidays this weekend!  I wrote the top part of the note on the chalkboard and hubby wrote the bottom.  I change the number each morning for him. 😀  We are planning to leave to go camping around the middle of next week.  Not sure how long we’re going for but not more than a week.  I’m excited and have waited a long time! There is so much I need to do to get ready!  The biggest job, that I’ve been concentrating on for the past week is processing my chickens.  Besides the fact that they are big enough, I want to free up the chicken coop to put the turkeys in there.  I prefer to have them safe and sound while we are away!  No worrying about coyote visits.  It’s hard to go on vacation when you have animals.  There was a lot of years, when the kids were small that we didn’t go anywhere.  Now we can go because the two older boys are working and are home to take care of the animals for me.  That is until they are all grown and gone.

The garden should be okay for a week.  I’ll have to pick beans before we leave but nothing else is ready yet.

I have to plan a menu and make a grocery list.  Choosing healthy foods that travel well and are easy to prepare is really hard to do!  I’d love your suggestions.  The camper has a fridge but space is very limited.

The camper itself needs to be cleaned up and packed.  Though it is already outfitted pretty well, I need to make sure we’ve got everything.  Can’t forget the bug spray.  The mosquitoes in Manitoba could carry a small child away and make camping utterly miserable.

Hubby has been working on the barn, making improvements (more on that later). I know he’d like to get to a certain point in that project before we leave.  Going on vacation with projects finished will make for a much more relaxing trip.

Leave a comment